Nine stand for two Borders seats

WHEN the deadline for nominations closed at 4pm on Tuesday, nine candidates had stood their ground for the two new, reconfigured and expanded constituencies as follows:

South Midlothian, Tweeddale and Lauderdale – Peter Duncan (Conservative), Christine Grahame (SNP), Ian Miller (Labour) and Jeremy Purvis (Lib Dem).

Ettrick, Roxburgh and Berwickshire – John Lamont (Conservative), Jesse Rae (no ticket), Euan Robson (Lib Dem), Rab Stewart (Labour) and Paul Wheelhouse (SNP).

The constituency and regional polls will be combined with the referendum on the UK Parliamentary voting system which will ask if MPs, currently elected under the first past the post, should instead by elected by the alternative vote system.

Applications for, amendments to and cancellations of postal votes must reach the Electoral Registration Officer at Scott House, Sprouston Road, Newtown St Boswells, TD6 0QD, by 5pm on Thursday, April 14. Applications to vote by proxy must go to the same address by 5pm on Thursday, April 21.

Meanwhile, Scottish Borders Council has warned that those who are not yet registered to vote must do so by Friday, April 15. To register, call 01835 825100 or print off the form from

The count for the Scottish Parliamentary seats will take place at Eildon Mill, Tweedbank.