Mud fails to mar Selkirk motor rally

Selkirk Vintage Rally
Selkirk Vintage Rally
Share this article

AT one point on Sunday morning, the entire length of the A7 trunk between Galashiels and Selkirk was gridlocked as visitors and exhibitors descended on Sunderland Hall near Lindean for the 18th Selkirk Rally – the unique annual showcase of veteran, vintage and classic vehicles.

With about 1,500 entries from across the UK and an estimated 3,000 paying visitors, the traffic jam was an unsurprising symptom of a hugely successful event, despite the preceding deluges which left parts of the showground resembling a quagmire.

A team of doughty volunteers, aided by the police and the local army cadet corps, ensured the convoy eventually dissipated.

It was worth the wait for the visitors as they marvelled at the exhibits, taking in 32 competitive classes and all modes of transport as well as farm machinery and steam engines.

The event was opened by Scottish Borders Council convener Alasdair Hutton and proved special for Mike Dickson of Carlisle whose 1982 Ford Fiesta was judged the best vehicle in the rally.

Local exhibitors were not to be outdone and there were notable successes for, among others, Hawick’s Allan Wood who had the best post-war motorcycle with his 1958 Matchless and Selkirk’s Colin Squance who prevailed with his 1971 Bedford campervan.

“Despite the mud, the sun shone on the best show ever,” said event chairman Gordon Edgar.

Trophy winners

Veteran cars up to 1918 – Neil McGarva, East Riggs, Annan (1914 Arrol Johnston).

Vintage cars up to 1930 – Stewart Brown, Edinburgh (1928 Lagonda HC 2ltr).

Post-vintage cars up to 1939 – Alastair Gunn, Edinburgh (1933 Lagonda Continental).

Post-war cars up to 1960 – Malcolm Monkhouse, Carlisle (1960 Jaguar XK150).

Post-war cars up to 1970 – Jim Scott, Penrith (1966 Ford Cortina Mark 1).

Post-war cars 1971 onwards – Garry Wilson, Dunblane (1979 Ford Escort).

Kit cars – Brian Barry, Darnick (1973 Beauford LWB).

Vintage motor bikes – Jim Malone, Strathaven (1930 Royal Enfield).

Post-vintage motor bikes – David Drummond, Freuchie (1936 Norton Model 50).

Post-war motor bikes – Allan Wood, Hawick (1958 Matchless GL3).

Post-war classic motor bikes – Doug Harvey, Renfrew ((1969 BSA Rocket 3).

Pre-war heavy commercials – T. B. Murray, Biggar (1935 Albion KL 127).

Post-war heavy commercials – Robert Drummond, Armadale (1962 Leyland Octopus.

Post-war light commercials – Wesley Turnbull, Bellingham (1961 Ford 400E).

Military vehicles – Mike Waggot, Haddington (1949 Bedford QL).

Buses – Alan Dixon, Stanley (1965 Albion).

Enclosed crank engines – Ronnie Grieve, Lockerbie (Lister L).

Open crank engines – William Brown, Dumfries (1921 Ingelo 3HP).

Working units – Dennis Andrews, Newark (1929 Ruston Hornsby AP).

Agricultural implements – Gordon Amos, Selkirk (1960 Massey Ferguson M20 baler).

Bicycles – Ron Callan, Newbigging by the Sea (1869 Snoxell & Spencer Velocipede).

Collections - Eric Chisholm, Melrose (hand-made models).

Miniature steam – Malcolm Kirkby, Uphall (2006 4" Alfred Dodman).

Steamers – Andrew Cook, Leven (1898 Marshall traction engine).

Junior class – Ben McDonald, Uphall (1930 replica Buccati pedal car).

Pre 1975 camper/caravan – Colin Squance, Selkirk (1971 Bedford CF).

Vehicle of special interest – Ian Hardie, Lindean (2010 Jeep half-size Willys).

Fire appliances – David McAusland, Johnstone (1970 Dennis F108 PE).

Tractors, paraffin or petrol – David Johnston, Dundee (1943 Ford Ferguson 9 Nan).

Tractors, diesel – Herbert Murray, Clovenfords (1964 International 414).

Club stands – Edinburgh MG Club.

Best Triumph motorcycle (and best motorcycle in show) – Bill McQueen, Burnhope (1961 Triumph Thunderbird).

Best Triumph car – Bill Shankland, Carlisle (1975 Dolomite Sprint).

Best Ford and best exhibit in show – Mike Dixon, Carlisle (1982 Fiesta)

Long haul – Barbara Perry, Harrogate (2005 MG ZR 105+).

Most original vehicle – Gordon Mathers, St Boswells.

Best BMC vehicle – Alistair Scott, Selkirk.

Tommy Hogan Trophy – Colin Kirk.