LATEST: Breakdown of SNP's election win

Christine Grahame of the Scottish National Party (SNP) has been returned as MSP for the Midlothian South, Tweeddale and Lauderdale Constituency.

Friday, 6th May 2016, 8:02 am
Updated Friday, 6th May 2016, 10:02 am

The result was announced at Springwood Park, Kelso, just before 8am this morning - one of the very last constituencies to declare a result in the 2016 Holyrood Elections. MSP

The result, in full:

Christine Grahame (SNP) 16,031

Michelle Ballantyne (Scottish Conservatives) 10,163

Fiona Dugdale (Scottish Labour) 5,701

Kris Chapman (Scottish Lib Dems) 3,686

Ms Grahame was returned with a majority of 5,868.

Turnout in the constituency was recorded as 59%.

This year’s election saw a marked increase in support for the Scottish Conservatives, with Michelle Ballantyne increasing her vote by 250%.

Meanwhile, Conservative John Lamont was voted in as Constituency MSP for Ettrick, Roxburghshire and Berwickshire.

Mr Lamont increased his majority from five years ago by 10.3% to 55.2% of the vote.

He has represented the constituency at Holyrood for the past five years and prior to that was MSP for Roxburgh and Berwickshire between 2007-11.

In the 2011 Scottish Parliament election Mr Lamont received 12,933 votes giving him an overall majority of 5,334 over his nearest rival Paul Wheelhouse, who he beat into second place again this time around.