Keeping standards up at Ettrick

Ettrick Flower Show held at Boston Hall on 24/08/13 - trophy winners
Ettrick Flower Show held at Boston Hall on 24/08/13 - trophy winners

The 56th Ettrick Flower show was held in the Boston Hall last Saturday.

Once again it was encouraging to see new exhibitors and the valley’s younger folk now becoming regular trophy winners.

Chairperson Roxy Stephen congratulated exhibitors on the high standard of their entries and thanked supporters of the show, especially the committee. Rab Wilson, writer-in-residence at the James Hogg exhibition in Ettrick Primary School presented the prizes and entertained guests with a poetry recital.

Particularly noteworthy were the entries for a “Potato Beastie”. Six years ago, local potter Ray Dowle presented the show with the Flockfield Potato Trophy to mark its 50th anniversary. Every year this class is for an item related to the humble potato.


Napier Cup (most points in flower section) – Roxy Stephen; best exhibit in flower section – Roxy Stephen; Pot Plant Trophy (most points in pot plant section) – Sheila Tyldesley; best exhibit in pot plant section) – Sheila Tyldesley; Strang Steel Cup – most points in decorative section – Maureen Ayling; George Stephen Quaich (best exhibit in decorative section) – Maureen Ayling; Macvicar Rose Bowl (most points in vegetable section) – Thomas Bryson; best exhibit in vegetable section – Thomas Bryson; Jack Goddard Trophy (best box of salad vegetables) – Thomas Bryson.

James Baird Shield (most points in baking section) – Jenny Oldfield; best exhibit in baking section – Lucile Macleod.

Photography – best exhibit in each class – “Something Broken” – Stuart Howden; “Reflections” – John Forsyth; “Wild” – Bridie Ashrowan; photograph with a caption – Thomas Bryson; Andrea Ashburn Trophy (most points in photography section) – Marjorie Hutton.

Golden Anniversary Trophy (most points in craft section) – Carole Howden;best exhibit in craft section – Irene McFadzen.

Jim and Joan Dodds Trophy (most points in show) – Thomas Bryson.

Flockfield Potato Trophy (Potato Beastie) – Shaun Ryde.

Children – most points in each age group – 12-18 – Angus Reid; up to 11 years – Hamish Reid; George Milne Trophy (best exhibit in juvenile section) – Emily Bryson and Hamish Reid.