Innerleithen chooses its councillors

INNERLEITHEN has chosen five new members to join the town’s community council.

The ballot of residents elected Neil Andrew, Laura Bennett and Marshall Douglas, of Innerleithen, as well as Cardrona’s Brian McCrow and Neil Cummings.

Tweeddale East councillor Gavin Logan, returning officer, said: “I am delighted we had so much interest in the election.

“I would like to pay tribute to the existing members of the community council, as well as Clare Malster and Linda Cornwall from Scottish Borders Council, for the immense amount of work which was necessary to make the election a success.”

The next meeting of Innerleithen Community Council will take place on Monday, September 5 at 7.15pm in the town’s Council Chamber.