Finalists named in 2011 Borders Business awards

The finalists of the 2010-11 Scottish Borders Business Excellence Awards have been revealed, after the judges scrutinised nearly 50 entries across seven hotly-contested categories.

Finalists in each category have been selected, and the winners will be announced at an awards lunch on Friday, March 18, at the Scottish Borders Campus, Galashiels.

The event will celebrate the achievement of businesses in the Borders.

For each category, a panel of judges was appointed to select a winner. It included a mix of representatives from category sponsors and public and private sector partners, including Purves Chartered Accountants, ProStrakan Group, Scottish Chambers International, Scottish Borders Chamber of Commerce, Business Gateway, Scottish Enterprise, The Federation of Small Businesses, Heriot-Watt University, Scottish Borders Exporters Association and Scottish Borders Council’s economic development team.

Galashiels-based ProStrakan Group are sponsoring the Innovation Award for the second year running.

Dr Tom Stratford commented on the high quality of the applications overall, and added: “ProStrakan is pleased to be able to support the Business Excellence Awards. This shortlist demonstrates the underlying diversity, strength and creativity of Borders-based businesses.”

Councillor Vicky Davidson, executive member for economic development, said: “We are delighted by the response this year across the seven categories.

“The standard and quality of entries has been excellent, and the shortlisted businesses can feel justifiably proud of their achievements.

“We were particularly impressed by the optimism and creativity demonstrated by these businesses, and I am looking forward to meeting them on March 18.

“The council has been engaging with a large number of businesses in the Scottish Borders this year, and the annual Business Excellence Awards provides a superb opportunity for some of these companies to come together and celebrate their success.”

The finalists in each category are as follows:

New business of the year, sponsored by Business Gateway

z Classic Camper Holidays, Ettrickbridge

z Cocoa Black Ltd, Peebles

z WASPS – Warnock’s Automotive Spray Paint Solutions, Kelso

Growth business of the year, sponsored by Purves Chartered Accountants

z A Hume (Outfitters) Ltd, Kelso

z CBA Digital, Greenlaw

z Qube GB Ltd, Selkirk

International trader of the year, sponsored by Scottish Chambers International

z Eribé Knitwear Design, Galashiels

z W W M Rose & Sons Ltd, Lamancha

Employer of the year, in association with the Federation of Small Businesses

z Borders College, Galashiels

z Hawick Knitwear Ltd, Hawick

z Stark Main & Co Ltd, Selkirk

Independent retailer of the year, in association with the Scottish Borders Chamber of Commerce

z Cocoa Black Ltd, Peebles

z Eden, Hawick

z The Mainstreet Trading Co Ltd, St Boswells

Innovation of the year, sponsored by ProStrakan

z EctoPharma Ltd, Selkirk

z Jaggy Nettle Ltd, Lauder

z Qube GB Ltd, Selkirk

Creative Marketing, sponsored the South of Scotland Creative Clusters Project

z House of Hearing, Galashiels

z Maplehurst Guest House, Galashiels

z The Scottish Borders Walking Festival

For further information on the Scottish Borders Business Excellence Awards please contact Lesley Kelso on 01835 826727, or email