Event is now doing blooming well at Ettrick

The 59 th Ettrick Flower Show, which was held at the Boston Hall on Saturday, August 20, was a great success despite the dreadful weather.

By The Newsroom
Thursday, 8th September 2016, 11:54 am
Updated Monday, 12th September 2016, 5:13 pm

Both entries and visitors to the show were up on previous events, and the standard of entries seems to improve every year.

The excellent afternoon teas, as always, provided the perfect backdrop for a great community get-together.

Before presenting the trophies, chairwoman Roxy Stephen warmly thanked her hard-working committee, and conveyed particular thanks to the people who had helped stage the show, and all who had supported it.

A year ago, the committee feared for the future of the show and appealed to the community for more support.

Following an EGM in October, the committee worked hard to improve the show and make it more appealing to visitors. As well as the date and time, they made changes to the show format, layout of the hall and schedule, including as many of the suggestions made by the community at the EGM as possible.

As well as gaining several new enthusiastic committee members, the Ettrick Flower Show seems to have taken on a new lease of life, and it is hoped that it will sustain.

Trophy winners: Napier Cup – most points in flower section one – Roxy Stephen.

Thirlestane Hill Cup - best exhibit In flower section one – Roxy Stephen.

Pot Plant Trophy – most points in pot plant section two – Sheila Tyldesley.

Cacra Hill Cup – best exhibit in pot plant section two – Sheila Tyldesley.

Strang Steel Cup – most points in decorative section three – Maureen Ayling.

George Stephen Quaich – best exhibit in decorative section three – Roxy Stephen.

Flockfield Potato Trophy – most points classes 22-24 section four – Ian Monteith.

Macvicar Rose Bowl – most points classes 25-35 section four – Thomas Bryson.

Jack Goddard Trophy – most points classes 36-41 section four – Roxy Stephen,

Ettrick Pen Cup – best exhibit in vegetable section four – Thomas Bryson’

James Baird Sheild – most points in baking section five – Jeff Ayling/Anne Turnbull.

Tushielaw Cup – best exhibit in baking section five – Irene Mcfadzen.

Oliver Rose Bowl – most points in preserves section six – Roxy Stephen.

Brockhope Cup – best exhibit in preserves section six – Sheila Tyldesley.

Andrea Ashburn Trophy – most points in photography section seven – Sophie Speed.

Photography Trophy – best exhibit in each class of section seven – Sophie Speed.

Golden Anniversary Trophy – most points in craft section eight – Alma Dowle.

Ward Law Cup – best exhibit in craft section eight – Alma Dowle.

Juvenile Cup – first prize for a picture – Connie Turnbull.

Juvenile Cup – first prize for a model – Callum Hewson.

George Milne Trophy – best exhibit in juvenile art exhibition – Connie Turnbull.

Jim & Joan Dodds Trophy – most points in show – Roxy Stephen.

Most weight of potatoes – Sue Hickenbotham.