Chairman and director resign from ProStrakan posts

TWO leading figures in Galashiels-based pharmaceutical company ProStrakan have resigned from their positions.

Chairman Peter Allen and non-executive director Dr Michael Asbury will leave the firm’s board at the end of the year.

Dr John Brown CBE will take over as chairman of the board of ProStrakan Group, which is a subsidiary of Kyowa Hakko Kirin Company Limited, a Japan-based global specialty pharmaceutical company.

His new role commences on January 1, 2014.

A statement from ProStrakan on Monday said the changes were due to the “successful integration of ProStrakan into the Kyowa Hakko Kirin business following its acquisition in 2011.”

Dr Tom Stratford, chief executive of ProStrakan, said:“Peter and Mike have each been long-standing members of the ProStrakan board and, during their time with us, ProStrakan has grown significantly and transitioned from being a small independent company into an important part of Kyowa Hakko Kirin.

“I would like to thank them personally for their support and, on behalf of our other board members, for their commitment and contribution over the years.”

Dr John Brown brings with him a wealth of pharmaceutical expertise. He is currently chairman of the Cell Therapy Catapult and CXR Biosciences Limited, and senior non-executive director of Vectura Group plc.

In the public sector, Dr Brown co-chairs the Life Sciences Industry Advisory Board for the Scottish Government and is chairman of the Roslin Foundation.

Commenting on Dr Brown’s appointment, Mr Stratford said: “We are thrilled to have been able to attract someone with John’s credentials as our new chairman. John brings with him a wealth of experience of the life sciences industry, and we look forward to the guidance and advice that he will undoubtedly bring to the ProStrakan board.”