Borderers turn out in force to pay homage to The Fallen

On a cold, but bright and sunny autumn day, Borderers turned out in large numbers across the region to pay their respects to local war dead.


Following church services, there was a parade around the town to the war memorial.

Wreaths were laid by Jack Clowry (Royal British Legion Scotland); Jeanette Hartley (Women’s Section, Royal British Legion Scotland); Army Cadet Force, Air Training Corps, Boys Brigade, Braw Lad Daniel Whitehead and Braw Lass Lucy Black; Burns Club, Scottish Borders Council (SBC); Territorial Army; Royal Air Force; Fire Service, British Red Cross; Polish Club; Scouts; Guides, Galashiels Community Council, Galashiels Academy and the Co-op.

Buglers were Alan Paterson and Derek Philips, while the piper was Drew Ness. Rev Duncan McCosh gave the service at the war memorial.


The annual remembrance parade to the town’s war memorial in Wilton Lodge Park, set off from the Common Haugh.

The parade was led by Provost Stuart Marshall and Lieutenant Caroline Brophy-Parkin, of the Salvation Army, accompanied by music from Hawick Pipe Band.

There was a large turnout of townsfolk who had also gathered to pay their respects.

Lieutenant Brophy-Parkin officiated at the service.

Piper Robert Scott played The Lament, while bugler Colin Crozier sounded the Last Post, before a two-minute silence, the end of which was heralded by Reveille.

Led by the Lord Lieutenant for Roxburgh, Ettrick and Lauderdale, the Hon. Gerald Maitland-Carew, and Provost Marshall, 31 wreaths were laid at the memorial, as music from Hawick Saxhorn Band and Alan Brydon’s ‘Calling Doon The Line’ filled the air.

The parade then made its way along the High Street, where Provost Marshall and the Lord Lieutenant took the salute.

Earlier in the morning, Provost Marshall and representatives of the Ex-Servicemen’s Club and the local branch of the Royal British Legion laid wreaths at the Boer War memorial where a short service was conducted by Lieutenant Brophy-Parkin.


There was a parade to the town’s war memorial, where wreaths were laid by Provost Richard Gordon (Jedburgh Community Council); Councillor Jim Brown (SBC); George Wright (Royal British Legion Men’s Section); Mary Jack and Emma Tait (RBL Women’s Section); Christine Rae (Scots Guards); Margaret Harkness and Brian Rogers (British Red Cross); Callant Garry Ramsay; Sophie Spence and Katie Watson (Girl Guides); McGregor Chippendale (Army Cadets); Finlay Duff and Beth Mabon (Jedburgh Grammar School); Amber Ferguson and Ben Marsden (Parkside Primary School); Mark Renilson (Freemasons); Jim Logan, Kris Sanderson and Jamie McConnell (RBL Riders Association).

The service at the war memorial was conducted by Reverend Graham Astles and Reverend David Dalglish. Jedburgh Royal British Legion Pipe Ban led the parade, while Jedforest Instrumental Band accompanied the hymns at the memorial and at the service which followed in Jedburgh Old and Trinity Parish Church.


There was a parade to the war memorial where wreaths were laid by Deputy Lord Lieutenant Joe Scott-Plummer on behalf of the Lieutenancy; Provost John Bassett (Kelso Community Council); Councillor Simon Mountford (SBC); Alasdair Hutton (Kelso branch of the Royal British Legion Scotland); Helen Robertson (Women’s Section of the Royal British Legion Scotland); 2013 Kelso Laddies Calum Thomson.

Other wreaths were laid on behalf of local organisations, including the Air Training Corps, Army Cadet Force, Girl Guides, Boy Scouts, Girls Brigade, Kelso Rotary Club and Kelso Probus Club.

The parade was followed by a church service.


A parade of veterans marched to the war memorial for the laying of wreaths, and thereafter to the parish church.

Wreaths were laid by John Crawford (Melrose branch of the Royal British Legion Scotland); Group Captain Hamish Reid (Royal Air Force Association, Edinburgh, Lothians and Borders); Provost William Windram

(Melrose Community Council); Melrosian Sam Thomson (Melrose Festival Committee); Rosie Fletcher and Sophie Wilson (Melrose Primary School); Christopher Bell and Susannah Godfrey-Faussett (St Mary’s School); Tom Beardsley (Scouts); Zoe Morrison (Guides); Lucy Jones (Brownies); Fire Service.

The Parade Commander was Flight Lieutenant John Brow, while Legion Standard Bearer was Tom Jones.

Binyon’s Lines were read by Tom Russell, president of Melrose RBLS Branch.

Mrs Ann Hogarth represented the Lord Lieutenant.


A church service in the Burgh Hall was followed by the laying of wreaths at the war memorial.

Wreaths were laid by Lord Lieutenant Captain Sir 
David Younger, Councillor Willie Archibald (SBC), 
Alasdair Stewart (Peebles Community Council), Royal British Legion Scotland, 
Peebles Ex-Servicemen’s Club, RAF, Royal Scots Borderers, 45 Commando Royal Marines 
Association, British Red Cross, Silver Band, Rotary Club, Masons, Scouts, Guides and Peebles High School.

A wreath was also laid by Adrian Lucas for his son, Alec Lucas, a Royal Marine killed in Afghanistan in 2008.


Following a service in the Parish Church, the parade of veterans marched to the town’s war memorial.

The 2013 Ex-Soldiers Standard Bearer David 
Deacon was parade marshal.

Wreaths were laid by this year’s 50th anniversary Ex-Soldiers Standard Bearer Rob Hume (Royal British Legion Scotland); Provost David Anderson(Common Riding Trust); Fiona Deacon (Ex-Soldiers Association) – making history as the first female veteran to lay the organisation’s wreath – Bill Scott (King’s Own Scottish Borderers); Councillor Michelle Ballantyne (SBC); and Tommy Combe (Selkirk Community Council).

Other wreaths were laid on behalf of the Fire Service, 
Rotary Club, Army Cadet Force, Scouts, Guides, Kevin Fairbairn and Ally Reid, 
deacons of the Hammermen and Weavers respectively; 
Fleshers Standard Bearer Scott MacKenzie; Merchants Company Standard Bearer Ian Main; Colonial Society; and by Keith Riddell, chairman of the Ex-Standard Bearers.

Piper Andrew Bunyan played The Lament and a bugler played the Last Post. There was a short service by minister, Rev Margaret