Borderers’ parliamentary choices

The candidates elected to represent their areas following the 2011 Scottish Youth Parliament election in the Borders are:

 Midlothian South, Tweeddale and Lauderdale – Amber Masters; Ettrick, Roxburghshire and Berwickshire – Christina Hendry and Andrew McGowan.

Those who stood, but were not elected, will form a Scottish Youth Parliament Action Group along with the three MSYPs to take forward SYP activity in this region.

 The participation of young people in this election resulted in 5,846 votes being cast, with each candidate receiving hundreds of votes.

A full election report will be produced and distributed, as well as promotional material to be displayed in schools and youth groups to inform young people of who their MSYPs are and how they can be contacted.