Border Shepherds’ Show results from Yetholm

Bumper crowds enjoyed sunshine at Yetholm Border Shepherds’ Show in the Haugh last Saturday.

The trophy winners were as follows: Sheep: overall champion sheep - James Smith, Bonchester Bridge with Cheviot ewe; reserve - Jane Jackson, Moffat; best female sheep in show - James Smith; Cheviot champion - James Smith; reserve - S Smith; pair ewe lambs - Jim Scott; North Country Hill Cheviot (Lairg type) champion - Bill Elliot, Hethpool, Wooler; North Country Cheviot champion - Jane Jackson; reserve - Innes Graham, Lockerbie; Blackface champion - Stephen Little; reserve - Euan Kinghorn; undressed - Stephen Little; points in undressed - Stephen Little; Mule champion - Bill Hedley, Corsbie, Earlston; Any other breed: best Bluefaced Leicester - A & C Freeland-Cook, Cliftoncote, Yetholm; best Suffolk - C & P Cessford, Belmont Farm, Yetholm; Shetland best lamb - A and M Arbuckle and S Meikle, Edinburgh; Prime lambs - G Davies & Ptnrs, Synton, Ashkirk, Selkirk; Young competitors champion - Matthew Little, Caverton Mains, Morebattle; Dogs: Terriers - best Border Terrier - M Portsmouth; best Jack Russell - Mrs K Duncan; Collies champion - Gwen Wallace, Prendwick, Whittingham, Alnwick; Horticultural: vegetables - J T Douglas, Hownam Grange, Yetholm; flowers - Bill Cockburn, Braeside, Yetholm; floral art - Miss R Mather, Kelso; Photography - Mr D Sudlow, Crailing; Industrial: eggs and preserves - Mrs Helen Moffat, Ruletownhead, Bonchester Bridge; knitting - Mrs C Addison; needlework and handicraft - Mrs Lizzie Grindell, Yetholm; Baking; cake - Mrs Sally Flintoft, Sourhope, Yetholm; scone and pastries - Mrs Linda Nairn, Hownam Mains, Hownam; gingerbread - Linda Nairn; best fatless sponge - Sally Flintoft; Walking sticks ‘Scottish Champion of Champions’ overall - David Gardner, Yorkshire; first reserve - Phillip Roskell, Moffat; second reserve - Philip Roskell; novice champion - Diane Hope, Cannonbie; first reserve: Robert Phillips, Langholm, second reserve, John Starr, Haddington; best stick in show - David Gardner; reserve - G Flintoft; novice - John Starr; Children’s section - Logan Edgar and Ethan Nisbet.