Blooming lovely

Share this article

DESPITE dreadful weather conditions leading up to Lauder’s annual flower show, there was a reasonable standard of exhibits for visitors to enjoy.

President Ian Brotherston welcomed everyone to the event and thanked exhibitors for all their efforts and continued support. Cups and prizes were presented by Mrs Mabelle Runciman as follows.

Results: J. Lawrie Cup for most points in vegetable section – Ivor Jones; J. Lawrie Cup for most points in flower section – Helen Morton; George Anderson Rosebowl for most points in potato section – Jim Mercer; Countess of Lauderdale Cup for outstanding flower exhibit –Ivor Jones (dahlias); George Brotherston Cup for best onions – Ivor Jones. McGregor Rosebowl for best rose blooms – Helen Morton; Colour Box Trophy for best gladioli spike – Bill Sowman; William Shaw Trophy for most points in fruit section – Kate Hankey; Floral Art Trophy – Linda Reed; A. & J. Rutherford Rosebowl for most points overall in vegetable and flower sections – Ivor Jones; Best exhbit in schoolchildren’s section – Alastair Black (painting). WRI prizes: Younger Cup – Joanne Watson; Stevenson Prize – Kathleen Thomson; WRI Cup – Joanne Watson; W. Hardie Prize – Kathleen Thomson; K. Thomson Prize – Kathleen Thomson; Mary McCallum Prize – Maureen McMillan.