2013 Kelso Civic Week trophy winners

Share this article

The prizewinners from Kelso Civic Week’s eight fun-filled days are as follows:

Saturday - Civic Week Tennis Challenge (under 16): Gregor Welsh; (over 16): Maggie Stewart; D. Lombardi Cup for five-a-side football (men): Undatables;

Sunday - Cycle Race: Stuart Chalmers Cup (senior men): Ross Laidlaw; John Butler Roofing Trophy (senior woman): Jane Holmes; Colin Dumma Cup (veterans): Kenny Darling; Ex-Kelso Laddies’ Cup (juniors) : Oscar Onley; Abbey Fitness Centre Trophy (Kelso residents): Ross Laidlaw; Family Day: C. Simmons Cup (five-a-side football 14 years and under): Rugby Rebels; Blakelaw Cup (boys’ fives, 11 years and under); Randons: Major Cox Cup (quoiting): A Irvine;

Monday - Colin Wood Memorial Trophy (best turned out horse and rider, Heiton ride): Joanna Howlett; ; Friars Haugh - Keith Challenge Cup (senior showjumping): Emma Thomson; Kelso Laddies’ Association Annual Challenge Cup (junior jumping): Duncan McFadyen; Lasswade Equestrian Cup (under 10s jumping): Hamish Stenhouse; Duke of Roxburghe Cup (senior, gymkhana): Steven Dickson; Evelyn (Renton) Robertson Memorial Trophy (under 16s, gymkhana): Ellie Mindrum; Smail Cup (Kelso riders, gymkhana): Duncan McFadyen; Robert Riddell Memorial Trophy (under 9s, gymkhana): Joanna Howlett;

Tuesday - George and Mary Anderson Cup for best turned out (Stichill rideout): Grace Forster; Swan Trophy (men’s darts): Ryan Hogarth; Waggon Inn Cup (ladies’ darts): Irene Hogarth

Wednesday - John Henderson Challenge Trophy (outstanding boy/girl, 15 years and under): Lara Paterson and Josh Abbott; Franklin Plaque for 100 yards (boys 15 years and under): Jason McIntosh: George Wright Memorial Trophy for 100 yards (girls 15 years and under): Lara Paterson; George Wright Cup: Jason McIntosh; Arthur Pinder Cup (cross country): Jason McIntosh

Thursday - Michael Pinder Cup for best turned out (Floors): Hamish Stenhouse;

Friday - Robert Guthrie Memorial Trophy (swimming): Daniel Lawson; Swimming Cup (Kelso Laddies’ relay): Kelso Swimming Club team; Kelso Laddies’ Association Swimming Challenge Trophy: Ross Gillie; Neil Weatherston Trophy (best turned out, Whipman’s): Eildon Sibbald; Archer Anderson Memorial Challenge Trophy (under 16s, most points in equestrian events overall): Katy McFadyen; Arnold Trophy (12.2hh pony race): Katy McFadyen; Paddy Sullivan Memorial Trophy (13.2hh pony race): Duncan McFadyen; J Douglas Trophy (14.2hh pony race): Bruce Lynn; Kelso Laddies’ Chase Cup: Sam Coltherd; Ballantyne Cup (ladies race): Kayleigh Pretswell; Bert Frame Cup (senior trotting): Steven Findlay; Christine Easton Memorial Trophy (junior trotting): Aiden McDonald; Airdriehills Trophy (Kelso citizens, donated by Ex-Laddie Jimmy Hinnigan): Steven Dickson; Friars Haugh Chase Trophy (hired horse): Amy Ledgerwood;

Saturday - David Brunton Challenge Cup (youngest rider): Jake Dickson; Rodger Fish Shield (oldest rider): Burnett Smith; Fancy dress: Nenthorn House Shield: The Misfits; Neve Trophy for best decorated lorry: Grand National Kelso; Keith Riddell Memorial Cup for best village lorry in parade: Grand Kelso National

Other prizes: Jean and Tom Anderson of AZ Catering Services Trophy for best turned out horse and rider (hired horse): Shania Dalgleish; Putting Cup: John Fleming; Red Lion Inn Shield for pool: Kenneth Gibson; Glass Trophy for best dressed window: Border Blooms; Peter Halley Cup for poetry: Marilyn Rome.