Jubilee standard bearers

This year’s Golden Jubilee Standard Bearer is Iain Galloway (1964) and the Silver Jubilee Standard Bearer (1989) is John Beveridge.

John won’t be in the burgh for the June 13 commemorations – he’s 3,500 miles at the start of a new job in Qatar as a defensive driving instructor.

But before he left he revealed that, along with friends in Qatar, he’ll celebrate with what he described as an alternative Common Riding. The jubilee duo are pictured with this year’s Royal Burgh Standard Greg MacDougall.