Three more lives claimed by coronavirus in Borders, taking death toll here to 38

Coronavirus has claimed another three lives in the Borders, according to figures out today, June 2.

Tuesday, 2nd June 2020, 12:39 pm
Updated Wednesday, 3rd June 2020, 1:37 pm
Nicola Sturgeon giving a Covid-19 outbreak update yesterday in Edinburgh.

That takes the death toll in the region among those confirmed to be suffering Covid-19, as the disease is also known to 38.

Figures issued by the National Records of Scotland last week, taking into account all fatalities attributed to coronavirus and not just among those previously tested and found to be infected, put the death toll for the region at 58 as of a week ago on Sunday, however – 24 higher than the Scottish Government figure of 34 at that time.

A further update from the national statistical services is due tomorrow.

It’s now over two months since the first five fatalities among Covid-19 patients here were announced on Monday, March 30.

That figure, going by Scottish Government calculations, rose to seven the day after, March 31; eight on Wednesday, April 1; 11 on Thursday, April 2; 14 on Friday, April 3; 16 on Sunday, April 5; 17 on Monday, April 6; 19 on Tuesday, April 7; 20 on Friday, April 10; 22 on Saturday, April 11; 23 on Sunday, April 12; 26 on Monday, April 13; 27 on Thursday, April 23; 28 on Friday, April 24; 29 on Monday, April 27; 30 on Wednesday, April 29; 31 on Thursday, April 30; 32 on Tuesday, May 12; 34 on Tuesday, May 19; 35 on Tuesday, May 26; and 38 today.

They are among 2,363 coronavirus patients killed by the disease in Scotland so far, up from 2,362 overnight, and 39,045 UK-wide, a rise of 111 on the day before.

No new cases of coronavirus were confirmed in the Borders yesterday, June 1, with the total for the region remaining at 325 for the fourth day running.

That standstill statistic followed a rise of two diagnoses on Friday coming after two days without any new cases.

It’s now nearing three months since the region’s first diagnoses were confirmed on Wednesday, March 11.

The 325 cases confirmed here are among 15,418 nationwide, up from 15,400 yesterday.

Across the UK, 276,332 people have tested positive for the disease, up 1,570 on the day before.

It’s now three months since Scotland’s first case, in Tayside, was announced on Sunday, March 1, after spreading across the world from Wuhan in China.

A further update from Scottish first minister Nicola Sturgeon is due later today.

Altogether, 20 Scots are in intensive care receiving treatment for coronavirus, along with another seven suspected to be infected but awaiting test results.

No patients confirmed to be suffering coronavirus are being treated in hospitals in the Borders at present, but 13 suspected to be infected are being looked after as they wait for test results to come back.

Some 74 patients previously treated for the disease in the region have recovered and been discharged.

More than 115,000 tests for the illness have been carried out in Scotland so far, with 99,841 coming back negative.

Giving an update in Edinburgh yesterday on the outbreak, Ms Sturgeon said: “There are still hundreds of people in hospital and suffering from this virus. There are still new infections in many health board areas, and it is still the case that every day, I have to stand here and confirm further loss of life.

“The fact is that the virus is being suppressed, but it has not gone away, and it is still extremely dangerous.

“Our routemap out of lockdown expressly recognises that during phase one, which we entered on Friday, there is still a high risk that the virus is not yet contained.

“We all must understand that and continue to remember it.

“If we all stick to these rules, we are helping to suppress this virus, but if even just a few of you don’t stick to these rules, we are providing a chance for the virus to spread more quickly and to spread to different parts of the country.

“We need to continue to do the right thing and to do right by each other.

“Let’s stick together and let’s all do the right thing for the benefit of ourselves and each other.”