No rise in coronavirus cases in Borders for second day in a row

No further cases of coronavirus have been confirmed in the Borders overnight for the second day in a row.

Saturday, 9th May 2020, 3:10 pm
Police Scotland chief constable Iain Livingstone at May 8's Scottish Government Covid-19 briefing.

That standstill statistic comes after rises of just one on Wednesday and Thursday following another two days going by without any new diagnoses of the disease, also known as Covid-19, being announced for the first time since mid-March.

The 286 cases confirmed here are among 13,305 nationwide, up from 13,149 yesterday, May 8.

Across the UK, 211,364 people have tested positive for coronavirus, up 4,649 on the day before.

Sign up to our daily The Southern Reporter Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

It’s nearing two months now since the first two cases of the disease were confirmed in the Borders on Wednesday, March 11, and over two months since Scotland’s first case, in Tayside, was announced on Sunday, March 1, after spreading across the world from Wuhan in China.

That figure rose to three on Friday, March 13; five on Saturday, March 14; seven on Sunday, March 15; eight the following Thursday, March 19; nine on Friday, March 20; 10 on Saturday, March 21; 11 on Sunday, March 22; 12 on Monday, March 23; 15 on Wednesday, March 25; 23 on Thursday, March 26; 28 on Friday, March 27; 35 on Saturday, March 28; 50 on Sunday, March 29; 63 on Monday, March 30; 77 on Tuesday, March 31; 87 on Wednesday, April 1; 93 on Thursday, April 2; 100 on Friday, April 3; 110 on Saturday, April 4; 130 on Sunday, April 5; 139 on Monday, April 6; 149 on Tuesday, April 7; 160 on Wednesday, April 8; 167 on Thursday, April 9; 177 on Friday, April 10; 189 on Saturday, April 11; 199 on Sunday, April 12; 204 on Monday, April 13; 208 on Tuesday, April 14; 215 on Wednesday, April 15; 220 on Thursday, April 16; 229 on Friday, April 17; 231 on Saturday, April 18; 237 on Sunday, April 19; 239 on Monday, April 20; 240 on Tuesday, April 21; 243 on Wednesday, April 22; 248 on Thursday, April 23; 253 on Friday, April 24; 258 on Saturday, April 25; 259 on Sunday, April 26; 269 on Monday, April 27; 272 on Tuesday, April 28; 279 on Wednesday, April 29; 281 last Friday; 283 on Saturday; 284 on Sunday; 285 on Wednesday; and 286 on Thursday.

There’d been no increase in the number of deaths claimed by the disease in the region for eight days as of yesterday, that being the latest update available, and it was still standing at 31.

It’s now been over a month since the first five fatalities among Covid-19 patients were announced on Monday, March 30.

That figure rose to seven the day after, March 31; eight on Wednesday, April 1; 11 on Thursday, April 2; 14 on Friday, April 3; 16 on Sunday, April 5; 17 on Monday, April 6; 19 on Tuesday, April 7; 20 on Friday, April 10; 22 on Saturday, April 11; 23 on Sunday, April 12; 26 on Monday, April 13; 27 on Thursday, April 23; 28 on Friday, April 24; 29 on Monday, April 27; 30 on Wednesday, April 29; and 31 last Thursday, April 30.

They are among 1,847 coronavirus patients killed by the disease in Scotland so far, up from 1,811 overnight, and 31,241 UK-wide, a rise of 626 on the day before.

The number of cases of Covid-19 in the Borders remains higher than in one of its neighbouring health board areas, Dumfries and Galloway’s total being 255, but is still well below the two others, Lanarkshire and Lothian being up to 1,635 and 2,324 respectively.

Altogether, 93 Scots are in intensive care receiving treatment for coronavirus, with 76 having tested positive and the others awaiting results.

Some 71,092 tests for the illness have been carried out in Scotland so far, with 57,787 turning out negative.

Police Scotland chief constable Iain Livingstone is urging Borderers and other Scots not to be tempted by this weekend’s good weather to break the lockdown rules in force since Monday, March 23.

Speaking at the Scottish Government’s daily Covid-19 briefing yesterday, he said: “What we have seen and experienced across Scotland to date is that communities have stepped forward, collectively and as individuals, to do their duty, to help each other.

“I want to acknowledge and highlight in particular the significant sacrifices which children and young people are making during this important stage of their lives when many milestones and events are arising.

“This reflects the fact that my officers and staff are experiencing high levels of co-operation and consent from our fellow citizens, as policing does its part to support the application of what I acknowledge are very restrictive measures on personal freedoms.

“Reassuringly, we have seen some early indications in an independent survey commissioned by the Scottish Police Authority that public confidence in policing in Scotland remains solid during this time and is perhaps even higher than it had been prior to this emergency.

“Going forward, we will continue to value the trust of the public and support them during these difficult days, and I’m extremely grateful for the public’s support for policing.

“It is my plea today for everyone to continue to exercise the self-discipline, commitment and common sense which has, thus far, served us all well.

“It is essential to protect the NHS and to save lives. Please stick with it.

“We don’t know exactly when any changes will come, what they will be or how they will be viewed.

“What I can tell you is that the police service of Scotland will continue to act with courtesy and common sense and in line with our values of public service.

“Officers will remain visible in communities across Scotland and may speak with you to explain restrictions and encourage you to adhere to them.

“Where necessary and, bluntly, as a last resort, we will enforce the law.

“At the same time, I want to reiterate that Police Scotland remains here to help and support our fellow citizens to keep them safe in all aspects of their lives.

“Police Scotland officers and staff are working around the clock, at times putting themselves in harm’s way, to respond to coronavirus and day-to-day policing demands.

“I reiterate my respect as chief constable and thanks for all they are doing and will continue to do, and I ask you, the people of Scotland, please continue to work together during this emergency.

“It is a shared mission for everyone in Scotland to reduce the spread of the virus, protect each other and save lives.”