Menzies Trophy races

TEVIOTDALE Harriers held their previously-postponed Menzies Races last Saturday.

Results – Under-13 boys: 1, Callum Murray (11.57); 2, David Mercer (12.35); 3, Kieron Pringle (11.04). Under-13 girls: 1, Emma Grieve (12.26); 2, Iben McMilan (12.35); 3, Eilidh Jaffray (12.54).

Under-17 boys: 1, Kyle Potts (19.29); 2, Keith Learmonth (20.18); 3, Charlie Marshall (22.57).

Senior ladies/Under-15 girls: 1, Louise Mercer (18.37); 2, Joanne Gilfillan (19.05); 3, Zoe Williams (19.28).

Senior men (Menzies Trophy): 1, Raymond Jaffray (24.05); 2, Craig Grieve (24.11); 3, Keith Murray (24.17). Fastest actual time and winner of the Oliver Trophy was Kelso’s Colin Welsh.

At the recent East District Cross-country Championships held at Livingston, which included the third East District League Race, Teviotdale had two runners in the Under-11 girls’ race with Ishbel Ingles finishing in 19th place and Emma Grieve finishing 33rd.

The under-15 girls’ race saw Louise Mercer having a great run to finish in second place with sister Catherine in 28th spot.

The ladies’ race saw Joanne Gilfillan lead the Teviotdale ladies home, finishing in 79th place, with team-mates Pam Paxton and Zoe Williams coming in 84th and 111st places respectively.

In the senior men’s race Teviotdale’s Raymond Jaffray finished in 34th and also picked up the silver medal in the vets’ category. Teviotdale’s other counters were Colin Welsh (56th), Ian Williams (100th), Allan Inglis (105th), Alistair Biggar (135th) and Allan Coltman (213rd).