Round-up of Kelso Civic Week trophy winners

Have your say

KELSO Civic Week celebrated its 75th anniversary this year when many and varied events and competitions were well attended and enjoyed.


Darts (R. Swan): Ryan Hogarth; Airdriehills Trophy (given by Ex-Laddie J. Hinnigan for Friars Haugh): Brian Turnbull; Smail Cup and replica (gymkhana): Katy McFadyen; Ballantyne Cup for Friars Haugh Ladies’ Race: Becky Johnston.

Kelso Laddie Chase Cup and Replica: Gary Bomont; Michael Pinder Cup for overall winner of judging of horses at Floors: Lauren Veitch; Douglas Trophy for pony racing at Friars Haugh: Lauren Strathdee; R. Frame Cup for senior trotting race at Friars Haugh: Holly Purves.

Ladies darts trophy(Waggon Inn): Irene Hogarth; Jean and Tom Andesron of AZ Catering Services Trophy for best turned out horse and rider (hired horse): Katie McNulty; Arnold Trophy for pony racing at Friars Haugh: Katy McFadyen.

Cox Cup for quoiting: T, Grieve; Colin Wood Memorial Trophy for best turned out horse and rider: Rachael Ward; Kelso Laddies’ Association Annual Challenge Cup for junior jumping: Leah Cassie.

Neil Weatherston Trophy for best turned out horse and rider at Whipman’s Ride: Becky Johnston; Paddy Sullivan Memorial Trophy for 13.2hh pony race at Friars Haugh: Connor McCabe.

D. Lombardi Cup for fivea-side football (men): Hoggis Dirty Arabs; Putting Cup: Liam Jarvis; Evelyn (Renton) Robertson Memorial Trophy (gymkhana): Duncan McFadyen; George and Mary Anderson Cup for best turned out horse and rider at the Stichill rideout: Rachel Ward.

Red Lion Inn Shield for pool: Kenneth Gibson; Robert Riddell Memorial Trophy (gymkhana): Katy McFadyen; Christine Easton Memorial Trophy (Friars Haugh): Abbey Robertson; Nenthorn House Shield: The Misfits.

Stuart Chalmers Cup for senior men at the cycle race: Colin Stevenson; John Butler Roofing Trophy for senior woman at the cycle race: Jane Holmes; Colin Dumma Cup for veterans at the cycle race: Jeremy Smith; Ex-Kelso Laddies’ Cup for juuiors at the cycle race: Sam McNeill. Lasswade Equestrian Cup: Katy McFadyen.

Abbey Fitness Centre Trophy for Kelso residents for fastest time at the cycle race: Jeremy Smith; Civic Week Tennis Challenge (under 16): Angus Millar; (over 16): Tate Bull; Keith Challenge Cup (senior showjumping): Alex Cassie.


Swimming Cup for Kelso Laddies’ relay: Kelso Laddies team; C. Simmons Cup for five-a-side football (14 years and under): Jordan and Co; Henderson Cup for most outstanding girl or boy (15 years and under) at schoolchildren’s sports: Gordon Armstrong.

Franklin Plaque for 100 yards (open to schoolboys 15 years and under): Gordon Armstong: George Wright Memeorial Trophy for 100 yards (open to schoolgirls 15 years and under): Gemma Hastings.

George Wright Cup: Gordon Armstrong; Kelso Laddies’ Association Swimming Challenge Trophy: Naomi Henderson.

Youngest Rider Cup and Medal: Hamish Stenhouse; Neve Trophy and replica for best decorated lorry: The Waverley Line; Glass Trophy for best dressed window: N & L Hat Hire; Rodger Fish Shield for oldest rider to Yetholm: Mark Skilbeck.

Blakelaw Cup for boys’ fives, 11 years and under, Epic Lads; Archer Anderson Memorial Challenge Trophy for most points in equestrian events: Katy McFadyen; S.A.M. Cup for creative writing, 5-8 years: Rebecca Tait; 9-12 years: Nicole McGeoch.

Robert Guthrie Memorial Trophy (swimming gala): Mackenzie Douglas; Keith Riddell Memorial Cup for best village lorry in parade: London 2012; Baby show: Angus Haig.